Home page > CNRS Offices abroad > Pretoria


On this website

On the whole CNRS Web


Since 2011, the IRD and the CNRS have a joint office located in the Innovation Hub. CIRAD joined this office in 2015. The joint IRD-CNRS-CIRAD office is responsible for South Africa, Zimbabwe and Mozambique (IRD), Southern Africa (CNRS) and South Africa (correspondence for CIRAD).

With more than 2,300 co-publications with South Africa over the last 5 years, the CNRS accounts for 54% of co-publications with France and is the 3rd foreign institution collaborating with South Africa after the University of London and University of California System.

CNRS co-publishes mainly with the best institutions of the country: the University of Cape Town, the University of Witwatersrand, the University of Johannesburg and the University of Kwazulu Natal. The main scientific fields of CNRS co-publications with South Africa are by decreasing importance: Physics (33%), Astronomy-Astrophysics (32 %), Environmental Sciences - Ecology (9%) and Geology (5%). The University of Cape Town and the University of the Witwatersrand remain the main partners in these scientific fields.

Cooperation with the CNRS teams also makes use of the structuring institutional tools for partnership such as:

• An UMIFRE (IFAS-Research)

• An International Joint Laboratory in Oceanography (LMI ICEMASA, IRD-INSU)

• An International Research Network in mathematics (IRN GANDA, INSMI)

• An International Associated Laboratory in palaeontology (LIA HOMEN, INEE)

• An International Associated Laboratory in Ecology-Evolution (LIA DROUGHT, INEE)

• An International Associated Laboratory in ethology-evolution (LIA VOCOM, INSB)

• An International Associated Laboratory in atmospheric sciences (LIA ARSAIO, INSU)

More at http://www.southern-africa.cnrs.ird...