© Marc TROUSSELIER / ECOSYM / CNRS Photothèque

The 'Bridge' (French sovereignty in the south-west Indian Ocean) exploratory PEPR

The dual aim of the 'Bridge' PEPR is to strengthen France's image and sovereignty in the south-west Indian Ocean and to strengthen multilateral dialogue. Such work is in the framework of a scientific approach to diplomacy and aims for a paradigm change through the development of a systemic and innovative vision for the management of the common good.
It will adopt an innovative approach based on networking socio-ecosystems and on interdisciplinary, multisectoral and equitable regional collaboration initiatives. It thus aims to increase the French territories' knowledge, capacity for anticipation, joint management, preservation and, indeed, resilience regarding the coming environmental and socio-economic changes.

  • Programme leaders: CNRS, IFREMER, IRD
  • Partners: Météo France, University Training and Research Centre Mayotte (CUFR), University of Reunion Island, Centre for Strategic Studies of the French Navy, French Marine Universities Network, Institute for International and Strategic Affairs, National Natural History Museum, French Southern and Antarctic Lands

© Marc TROUSSELIER / ECOSYM / CNRS Photothèque

PEPR exploratoire Bridges (souveraineté de la France dans le sud-ouest de l’océan Indien)

Bridges a pour objectif de conforter l'image et la souveraineté de la France dans le sud-ouest de l’océan Indien et de renforcer le dialogue multilatéral régional. Il s’inscrit dans une démarche de diplomatie scientifique et vise à changer de paradigme, avec une vision systémique et novatrice de la gestion du bien commun.

Il s’appuiera sur une approche innovante basée sur la mise en réseaux de socio-écosystèmes et sur des collaborations régionales interdisciplinaires, multisectorielles et équitables permettant d’accroître la connaissance, l'anticipation, la gestion commune, la préservation et, de fait, la résilience des territoires français et riverains aux changements environnementaux et socio-économiques à venir.

  • Pilotes : CNRS, Ifremer, IRD
  • Partenaires : Météo France, CUFR de Mayotte, Université de La Réunion, Centre d’Étude Stratégique de la Marine, Réseau des Universités Marines, Institut de Relations Internationales et Stratégiques, Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, Les Terres australes et antarctiques françaises