Homepage > Research > Awards > Innovation medalists

CNRS Innovation medalists

The CNRS Medal of Innovation, created in 2011, rewards outstanding scientific research with innovative applications in the technological, therapeutical and societal fields, thus promoting French scientific research. Every year, a jury hands out up to five medals to researchers and engineers, either from CNRS or within other research organizations, universities and higher-education institutions, or to industrial parners involved in research initiatives.


2015 Medal of Innovation laureates

  • Jérôme Chevalier, materials engineer
  • Patrick Maestro, chemist
  • Jean-Michel Morel, mathematician
  • Sylviane Muller, biologist


2014 Medal of Innovation laureates

  • Barbara Demeneix, biologist
  • Claude Grison, chemist
  • Valentina Lazarov, expert in process engineering for the treatment and reuse of wastewater
  • Didier Roux, physical chemist

Press release


2013 Medal of Innovation laureates

  • Philippe Cinquin, professor in medical data processing,
  • Ludwik Leibler, physical chemist,
  • Stéphane Mallat, mathematician.

Press release


2012 Medal of Innovation laureates

  • Alain Benoît, very low temperature physicist,
  • Patrick Couvreur, biochemist,
  • José-Alain Sahel, adaptive optics clinician and researcher.


2011 Medal of Innovation laureates

  • Esther Duflo, development economist,
  • François Pierrot, robotics specialist,
  • Mathias Fink, physicist.

Press release