The National Centre for Scientific Research is an interdisciplinary public research organisation under the administrative supervision of the French Ministry of Higher Education and Research.

Nearly 3.8 billion A budget of
33,000 people dedicated to research
More 1,100 research laboratories in France and abroad

Status : Public Scientific and Technological Establishment (EPST)

Date of creation : October 19, 1939

President : Antoine Petit

Headquarters : 3, rue Michel-Ange, Paris 16e

Research fields :

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Ecology and environment
  • Humanities and social sciences
  • Engineering and systems
  • Mathematics
  • Nuclear and particles
  • Physics
  • Information sciences
  • Earth sciences and astronomy